The Value of Gamma

The Gamma and the value of financial advice

In August 2016, the Centre interuniversitaire de recherche en analyse des organisations (CIRANO) published a study by Claude Montmarquette and Nathalie Viennot-Briot on the value of financial advice. This recent study showed that households with a financial advisor accumulated 69% more assets on average over 4 years and 290% more over 15 years than households without a financial advisor.

The Value of Gamma

10

ALPHA

20

BETA

70

GAMMA

10

ALPHA

The term "alpha" refers to the portfolio manager's added value and choice of securities in a portfolio relative to its benchmark.

20

BETA

The term "beta" refers to a coefficient that measures the volatility or sensitivity of a security or portfolio relative to the reference market. This beta consists of determining the asset allocation to be made by the investor between the different portfolios. The risk tolerance of each investor will then be the barometer for knowing how to make these choices.

70

GAMMA

In a 2013 study, Morningstar Canada researchers (David Blanchett and Paul D. Kaplan) developed a method to measure the percentage of additional value generated by financial and tax planning and found that working with a financial planner represents an average additional annual return of 1.82% for investors.Comprehensive financial planning involves not only guidance on fund and manager selection (alpha) and asset allocation (beta), but also taking into account an individual's overall financial situation, i.e. taking charge of his or her tax situation, managing wealth (including debt management), setting financial goals, coaching emotional behaviour and implementing strategies to achieve goals (gamma).

Financial planning

Financial planning is a multi-step process that consists of rigorously evaluating an individual's personal financial situation, comparing it to the desired future situation, and then developing strategies adapted to the individual's needs and priorities that will enable him or her to achieve goals by aiming for the optimal allocation of resources. The interdependence of the different areas of intervention in financial planning must be taken into account in the formulation of appropriate strategies. Possible areas of intervention are legal aspects, insurance and risk management, finance, taxation, investments, retirement and succession. Financial planning is an ongoing process that includes a regular review of an individual's progress in achieving his or her goals and changing needs and priorities, a re-evaluation of existing financial strategies and updates when warranted.

Financial Planner

A financial planner is a person who has the knowledge, skills, abilities and professional judgment to provide objective financial planning advice at the highest level of complexity required by the profession. He or she must apply the standards of practice and adhere to the code of ethics of a supervisory body, which includes the duty to ensure that the client's interests are put ahead of his or her own.

Financial Planning Report

The financial planning report is a written report on an individual's goals, needs and priorities. It takes into account the relevant areas of financial planning intervention and the relationships between them. The areas of intervention are legal aspects, insurance and risk management, finances, taxation, investments, retirement and succession.

The various sections of the report cover the individual's financial situation at a given date, the analysis process used to identify issues and opportunities, the evaluation of relevant strategies and the recommendations developed to achieve the individual's objectives, taking into account his or her needs and priorities.

A financial planning report includes the client's personal information and the financial assumptions on which it is based, as well as a disclaimer stating that its preparation is based on the use of the information provided by the client and the assumptions made. It also includes a step-by-step list of who needs to do what and when.

Subscribe to our newsletter
What are you waiting for to invest in your dreams?
Business
Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

La valeur du Gamma

Le Gamma et la valeur des conseils financiers

En août 2016, le Centre interuniversitaire de recherche en analyse des organisations (CIRANO) a publié une étude de Claude Montmarquette et Nathalie Viennot-Briot sur la valeur des conseils financiers. Cette récente étude a démontré que les ménages ayant recours à un conseiller financier ont accumulés 69 % de plus d’actifs en moyenne sur 4 ans et 290 % de plus sur 15 ans, que les ménages sans conseiller financier.

La valeur du Gamma

10

ALPHA

20

BETA

70

GAMMA

10

ALPHA

Le terme « alpha » désigne la valeur ajoutée du gestionnaire de portefeuille et le choix des titres d’un portefeuille par rapport à son indice de référence.

20

BETA

Le terme « bêta » désigne un coefficient qui mesure la volatilité ou la sensibilité d’un titre ou d’un portefeuille par rapport au marché de référence. Ce bêta, consiste à déterminer l’allocation des actifs à faire par l’investisseur entre les différents portefeuilles. La tolérance aux risques de chacun des investisseurs sera alors le baromètre permettant de savoir comment effectuer ces choix.

70

GAMMA

Le terme « gamma » désigne la valeur ajoutée destinée à évaluer la performance du planificateur financier, qui aide ses clients à prendre des décisions financières éclairées et réfléchies.Dans une étude parue en 2013, des chercheurs du Morningstar Canada (David Blanchett et Paul D. Kaplan) ont mis au point une méthode permettant de mesurer le pourcentage de valeur additionnelle produite par la planification financière et fiscale; leur étude révèle que le fait de faire affaire avec un planificateur financier représente un rendement additionnel annuel d’en moyenne 1,82 % pour les investisseurs.La planification financière globale comporte non seulement la guidance en matière de sélection de fonds et de gestionnaires (alpha) et d’allocation d’actifs (bêta), mais aussi la prise en compte de l’ensemble de la situation financière d’un individu, c’est-à-dire la prise en charge de sa fiscalité, la gestion de son patrimoine (incluant la gestion de la dette), l’établissement de ses objectifs financiers, le coaching du comportement émotionnel et la mise en œuvre de stratégies pour la réalisation de ses objectifs (gamma).

Planification financière

La planification financière est un processus comportant plusieurs étapes qui consiste à évaluer de façon rigoureuse la situation financière personnelle d’un individu, à la comparer à la situation future souhaitée, puis à élaborer des stratégies adaptées aux besoins et aux priorités de cet individu qui lui permettront d’atteindre ses objectifs en visant l’allocation optimale de ses ressources. Il faut tenir compte de l’interdépendance des différents domaines d’intervention en planification financière dans la formulation des stratégies appropriées. Les domaines d’intervention possibles sont les aspects légaux, l’assurance et la gestion des risques, les finances, la fiscalité, les placements, la retraite et la succession. La planification financière est un processus continu qui comprend un examen régulier des progrès réalisés par un individu dans l’atteinte de ses objectifs et l’évolution de ses besoins et de ses priorités, une réévaluation des stratégies financières en place et des mises à jour lorsque la situation le justifie.

Planificateur financier

Un planificateur financier est une personne qui possède les connaissances, les compétences, les habiletés et le jugement professionnel nécessaires pour donner des conseils objectifs en matière de planification financière au plus haut niveau de complexité requis par la profession. Il doit appliquer les normes de pratique et respecter le code de déontologie d’un organisme de surveillance comportant le devoir de veiller à la primauté des intérêts du client sur les siens.

Rapport de planification financière

Le rapport de planification financière est un rapport écrit portant sur les objectifs, les besoins et les priorités d’un individu. Il tient compte des domaines d’interventions en planification financière pertinents et des relations entre ceux-ci. Les domaines d’intervention sont les aspects légaux, l’assurance et la gestion des risques, les finances, la fiscalité, les placements, la retraite et la succession.

Les diverses sections du rapport couvrent la situation financière de l’individu à une date donnée, le processus d’analyse utilisé pour cerner les enjeux et les possibilités, l’évaluation des stratégies pertinentes et les recommandations élaborées pour atteindre les objectifs de cet individu, tenant compte de ses besoins et de ses priorités.

Un rapport de planification financière comprend les renseignements personnels du client et les hypothèses financières sur lesquelles il s’appuie, ainsi qu’un avis de non-responsabilité mentionnant que sa préparation est fondée sur l’utilisation des renseignements fournis par le client et sur les hypothèses formulées. Il comprend également une liste des étapes à suivre et précise qui doit faire quoi, et à quel moment.

La liberté financière est le début de la concrétisation de vos rêves !
Qu'attendez-vous pour investir dans les vôtres ?
NOUS-JOINDRE